2021 Ford Bronco vs. 2021 Jeep Wrangler: which really is the best SUV?

Presenting the 2021 duel between the Ford Bronco (left) and the Jeep Wrangler(right)

We all know that the SUV segment has literally exploded in recent years. In Blainville or St-Jérôme on the North Shore, or on the West Island, there's really something for everyone, whether it's a micro-compact, sub-compact, compact, mid-size or full-size one. On the other hand, despite this multitude of choices, only one can boast of having removable doors, roof and folding windshield. The 2021 Jeep Wrangler is the one and only that can claim such a feat.

Jeep DNA in the new 2021 Wrangler

The first Jeep vehicle appeared in 1940, intended for soldiers of the U.S. Army, and it was named Willys at the time. More than 80 years later, this Jeep SUV has retained its unique DNA while allowing itself to evolve to keep pace with the demands of drivers over the years. In 2020, the American automaker paid tribute to its forefather by presenting a Willys version, accompanied that same year by the Black & Tana Edition.

Still considered a timeless icon as well as an undisputed expert in off-road driving, the 2021 Wrangler now faces a new opponent, the 2021 Ford Bronco. Like a phoenix rising from the ashes, the Bronco arrived in 1966 and was abandoned in 1996, and you don't have to be a mind reader to know that the 2021 Bronco was designed and built to compete directly with the 2021 Wrangler.

2021 Jeep 
Wrangler SUV

Showroom image of the 2021 Jeep Wrangler

Starting at $37,070 + Sales Taxes*

View New Inventory

Contact

Excellence Dodge Chrysler Inc.

250, Rue Dubois
Directions St-Eustache, QC J7P4W9

  • Sales: (450) 491-5555
  • Service: (450) 491-5555
  • Parts: (450) 491-5555

The 2021 Ford Bronco comes close but still second to the 2021 Wrangler

Since it is necessary to give credit where credit is due, we must admit that the Bronco has a killer look and its lines respectfully remind one of its predecessor, with a frankly successful modernized touch. Apparently, those in charge of its design were inspired by an old Bronco, which was left parked at Ford's studios for the entire time of its conception. Now, the question remains whether it has everything it takes to hurt the undisputed king of off-roading, so here's a Bronco vs Wrangler comparison.

First of all, the Ford will be able to get rid of its doors and roof and will be available in 2-door and 4-door versions for all models, just like the Wrangler, except for the windshield which remains fixed on the Bronco. It will be available in 6 variants, namely the Base, Big Bend, Black Diamond, Badlands, Outer Banks and Wildtrak. Its prices range from approximately $40,500 to just under $59,000.

2021 Jeep Wrangler Powertrain

Depending on your model, this 4x4 SUV offers 2 turbocharged engines: a 2.3-litre 4-cylinder engine with 270 horsepower and 310 lb-ft of torque, and a 2.7-litre V6 engine with 310 horsepower and 400 lb-ft of torque. Either a 7-speed manual or a 10-speed automatic transmission are available.

At Jeep, there's no skimping choice, with 16 of them, namely the Sport, Willys Sport, Sport S, Islander, Willys, 80th Anniversary Edition, Unlimited Sport 80th Anniversary, Rubicon, Unlimited Sport S, Unlimited Islander, Unlimited Sport Altitude, Unlimited Willys, Unlimited Sahara, Unlimited Sahara Altitude, Unlimited Rubicon and Unlimited Sahara High Altitude, from just above $35,000 to slightly over $56,000.

Close-up view of the front wheels on the 2021 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon
View New Inventory
Front view of the 2021 Jeep Wrangler Sahara

More powertrains are available, including the 3.6-litre Pentastar V6 with 285 horsepower and 260 lb-ft of torque, the 3.0-litre EcoDiesel V6 with 260 horsepower and 442 lb-ft of torque, the 2.0-litre 4-cylinder Turbo with 270 horsepower and 295 lb-ft of torque, not to forget the V8 monster with 470 horsepower and the same amount of torque, exclusive to the Rubicon 392. A 6-speed manual transmission or 8-speed automatic complete the picture.

Now that we know the models, prices and engines, what about their respective capabilities? Because looks alone certainly can't guarantee its prowess, which may or may not help it be the best SUV between the two.

All Ford Bronco models come standard with 4-wheel drive, and the base part-time 4x4 system is an electronic shift-on-the-fly 2-speed transfer case. As an option, you can get an advanced 4x4 system featuring a 2-speed electromechanical transfer case with automatic on-demand engagement. Also, the multi-terrain selector gives you up to 7 drive modes.

As for the Wrangler, it's renowned for its 3 super-efficient 4x4 systems, all equipped with a 2-speed transfer case; the Command-Trac is standard on the Sport and Sahara versions. There are also the responsive Selec-Trac, standard on Sahara models, and the very efficient heavy-duty part-time Rock-Trac with Tru-Lok electronic locking differentials and electronic front sway bar disconnect. Both can tow up to 1,580 kg (3,500 lb).

Make an Inquiry

Bronco vs. Wrangler: the 2021 Jeep Wrangler, better value for the money

Aside from the fact that the Wrangler will cost you less, it also offers you infinitely more choices in terms of versions and body colours, more powerful engines including a diesel engine as well as a 350-horsepower Plug-In Hybrid with 442 lb-ft of torque, and it provides more conveniences, including 8 speakers versus 6, Electronic Stability Control with Trailer Sway Control, a block heater and Hill Start Assist, among others. 

But the real question is, how can you compete with more than 80 years of experience in off-road capabilities, especially when you're part of a family with decades of expertise? It all sounds very interesting on paper, however, the real competition is on the field and as such, the Bronco has a lot to prove. A lot.

Come discover the new 2021 Wrangler in St-Eustache

It is certain that the Wrangler's aficionados will always swear by it; for others or "infidels", it remains to be seen whether the Ford will be able to live up to its pretensions. In any case, years from now, it is absolutely certain that the Jeep Wrangler will still be the champion of off-road driving, despite vain attempts from its detractors. And for those who've already understood this, come and choose yours at your Excellence Chrysler St-Eustache dealership, easily accessible from the West Island, St-Jérôme and Blainville on the North Shore.

Ford Bronco 2021 vs Jeep Wrangler 2021 : lequel est vraiment le meilleur VUS ?

Presentation du duel 2021 duel entre le Ford Bronco (gauche) et le Jeep Wrangler(droit)

On sait tous que la catégorie des utilitaires sport a littéralement explosé ces dernières années, que ce soit à Blainville ou St-Jérôme sur la Rive-Nord ou dans le West Island, il y en a vraiment pour tous les goûts, micro-compacts, sous-compacts, compacts, intermédiaires et pleine grandeur. Par contre, malgré cette multitude de choix, un seul peut se targuer de pouvoir se dévêtir de ses portières, de son toit et de son parebrise. Le Jeep Wrangler 2021 est le seul et unique pouvant se vanter d'une telle prouesse.

L'ADN Jeep dans le nouveau Wrangler 2021

C'est en 1940 que le premier véhicule Jeep est apparu, destiné aux soldats de l'armée américaine et qu'on a baptisé à l'époque, Willys. Plus de 80 ans plus tard, ce VUS Jeep a su conserver son ADN unique tout en se permettant d'évoluer au rythme des exigences des conducteurs et conductrices au fil des ans. C'est en 2020 que le constructeur américain a rendu hommage à son aïeul en nous présentant une version Willys, accompagné cette même année, de la version Noir & Havane.

Encore et toujours considéré comme une icône intemporelle tout autant qu'un expert incontesté de la conduite hors route, le Wrangler 2021 se voit désormais confronté à un nouvel adversaire, le Ford Bronco 2021. Tel un phénix qui renaît de ses cendres, le Bronco est arrivé en 1966 pour être ensuite abandonné en 1996 et il n'est certes pas nécessaire d'être devin pour savoir que le Bronco 2021 a été pensé et fabriqué pour rivaliser directement avec le Wrangler 2021.

VUS Jeep
Wrangler 2021

image de la salle d'exposition du Jeep Gladiator 2021

À partir de37 070 $ + Taxes sur les ventes *

Afficher l'inventaire du Jeep Wrangler 2021

Contact

Excellence Dodge Chrysler Inc.

250, Rue Dubois
Directions St-Eustache, QC J7P4W9

  • Ventes: (450) 491-5555
  • Service: (450) 491-5555
  • Pièces: (450) 491-5555

Le Ford Bronco 2021 n'arrive qu'à la cheville du nouveau Wrangler 2021

Puisqu'il faut bien rendre à César ce qui appartient à César, force est d'admettre que le Bronco possède une gueule d'enfer et ses lignes rappellent respectueusement celles de son ancêtre, avec une touche modernisée franchement réussie. Apparemment, les responsables de son design se sont inspirés d'un vieux Bronco, qu'on a laissé stationner dans les studios de Ford durant tout le temps de sa conception. Maintenant, reste à savoir s'il possède tout ce qu'il faut pour faire mal au roi incontesté du tout-terrain, voici donc un comparatif Bronco vs Wrangler.

D'entrée de jeu, le Ford pourra se défaire de ses portières et de son toit et sera disponible en versions à 2 et 4 portes pour tous les modèles, tout comme le Wrangler, à l'exception du parebrise qui demeure fixe sur le Bronco. Il propose 6 variantes, soit de Base, Big Bend, Black Diamond, Badlands, Outer Banks et WildTtrak. Ses prix varient d'environ 40 500 $ jusqu'à un peu moins de 59 000 $.

La motorisation du Jeep Wrangler 2021

Dépendamment de votre modèle, ce VUS 4x4 propose 2 moteurs turbocompressés, soit un 4  cylindres 2,3 litres de 270 chevaux pour un couple de 310 lb-pi, et le second, un moteur V6 de 2,7 litres de 310 chevaux pour 400 lb-pi de couple. Une transmission manuelle à 7 vitesses ou une automatique à 10 rapports sont proposées.

Chez Jeep, on ne lésine pas avec les choix qui sont au nombre de 16, dont les Sport, Willys Sport, Sport S, Islander, Willys, Édition 80e Anniversaire, Unlimited Sport 80e Anniversaire, Rubicon, Unlimited Sport S, Unlimited Islander, Unlimited Sport Altitude, Unlimited Willys, Unlimited Sahara, Unlimited Sahara Altitude, Unlimited Rubicon et Unlimited Sahara High Altitude, à partir de poussières au-dessus des 35 000 $ jusqu'à un peu plus de 56 000 $.

Vue frontale du Jeep Wrangler Sahara 2021

Les motorisations se font plus nombreuses et on compte les V6 Pentastar de 3,6 litres de 285  chevaux pour 260 lb-pi de couple, le V6 EcoDdiesel 3,0 litres de 260 chevaux pour 442 lb-pi de couple, le 4 cylindres turbocompressé de 2,0 litres de 270 chevaux pour 295 lb-pi de couple, sans faire passer sous silence le monstre V8 de 470 chevaux pour le même chiffre de lb-pi, moteur exclusif à la version Rubicon 392. La transmission manuelle à 6 rapports ou l'automatique à 8 vitesses complètent le tableau.

Maintenant qu'on connaît les modèles, les prix et les moteurs, qu'en est-il de leurs compétences respectives? Parce que le look à lui seul ne peut certainement pas être garant de ses capacités, qui en feront ou non, le meilleur VUS entre les deux.

Tous les Ford Bronco arrivent de série avec 4 roues motrices et le système 4x4 de base arrive avec un boitier de transfert avec séélection éélectronique en marche à 2 vitesses. En option, vous pouvez obtenir un boitier de transfert éélectroméécanique à 2 vitesses doté d'un mode automatique. Aussi, le sélecteur multi-terrain vous offre jusqu'à 7 modes de conduite.

Le Wrangler quant à lui, a su faire sa renommée avec ses 3 systèmes 4x4 super efficaces, tous équipés d'un boîtier de transfert à 2 vitesses; le Command-Trac inclus de série en versions Sport et Sahara; le Selec-Trac actif et le très efficace Rock-Trac à prise temporaire qui comporte un boitier de transfert ultra robuste, des différentiels à verrouillage électronique et une barre antiroulis. Ils peuvent tous deux remorquer jusqu'à 1 580 kg, soit 3 500 lb.

Demande d'info générale

Bronco vs Wrangler : le Jeep Wrangler 2021 pour son meilleur rapport qualité-/prix

  Mis à part le fait que le Wrangler vous coûtera moins cher, qu'il vous offre infiniment plus de choix, et pour les versions et les teintes de carrosseries, des moteurs plus puissants dont un moteur diesel, et aussi un hybride rechargeable de 350 chevaux pour 442 lb-pi de couple, il vous offre plus de commodités dont 8 haut-parleurs contre 6, le système électronique d'antidérapage avec dispositif antilouvoiement de la remorque, le chauffe-bloc et l'assistance au départ en pente, entre autres. 

 

Mais la vraie question à se poser est; comment peut-on rivaliser avec plus de 80 années d'expérience dans le domaine du hors route et surtout, quand on fait partie d'une famille qui cumule plusieurs dizaines d'années d'expertise à son actif? Tout ça semble très intéressant sur papier, néanmoins, la vraie compétition se fait sur le terrain et à ce titre, le Bronco en a beaucoup à prouver. Beaucoup.

Venez découvrir le nouveau Wrangler 2021 en concession à St-Eustache

Il est certain que les aficionados du Wrangler ne jureront toujours que par lui, pour les autres ou les infidèles, reste à savoir si le Ford saura se montrer à la hauteur de ses prétentions. Toutefois, quoi qu'il en soit, d'ici des années, il est absolument certain que le Jeep Wrangler sera encore et toujours le champion de la conduite hors route et ce, malgré les vaines tentatives de ses détracteurs. Et pour ceux qui ont déjà compris, venez choisir le vôtre chez votre concessionnaire Excellence Chrysler St-Eustache, facilement accessible à partir du West Island, St-Jérôme et Blainville sur la Rive-Nord.